20 Home Remedies for Cough

السعال المستمر فظيع. إنه يزعج نومك ويمنعك من القيام بما يجب عليك القيام به بشكل صحيح.

السعال هو في الواقع كيف يتفاعل جسمك بشكل طبيعي عندما يكون مجرى الهواء مهيجًا أو مسدودًا. يمكن أن تأتي أيضا مع الحساسية ونزلات البرد أو الأنفلونزا. على الرغم من أن هناك العديد من العلاجات المنزلية التي تعمل بشكل جيد ، فمن المفيد أن تكون على بينة من سبب السعال.

إذا دخلت جسيمات الطعام مجرى الهواء عن طريق الصدفة أثناء البلع ، فستواجه فقط كتلة مؤقتة من المجرى الهوائي والسعال الصلب. ومع ذلك ، يتم حل هذا بسرعة كبيرة. من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن أن تسبب التهابات الحلق البكتيرية والفيروسية السعال الضحلة ولكن مؤلمة. في هذه الحالة ، يعتبر مهاجمة العدوى هو الحل الأفضل.

أنواع السعال

عادة ما يحدث السعال الجاف ، الذي يحدث بسبب تهيج بطانة مجرى الهواء ، من مسببات الحساسية التنفسية. في هذه الحالة ، من الأفضل قمع السعال. خلاف ذلك ، قد يؤدي إلى تفاقم مجرى الهواء الخاص بك.

الإعلانات

غالباً ما تكون السعال العميق ، الذي عادة ما يكون البلغم ، بسبب التهابات الجهاز التنفسي. في هذه الحالة ، يجب التخلص من المخاط الذي يمنع مجرى الهواء. من الأفضل استخدام العلاجات المنزلية التي تساعدك على إخراج المخاط إلى أن تختفي العدوى.

ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن يكون السعال الجاف موجودًا بعد ذلك في حالة إصابة البطانة المخاطية للمجرى الهوائي ببعض الضرر. لحل هذا ، يجب عليك الحفاظ على مجرى الهواء الخاص بك رطبة ورطبة.

العلاجات

1. المياه المالحة الغرغرة

منذ فترة طويلة جدا ، تم استخدام الملح لعلاج الالتهابات والالتهابات. في الواقع ، يمكن أن نجد وصفات العلاجات المالحة في مخطوطات البردي المصرية التي يرجع تاريخها إلى 1699 BC حتى يومنا هذا ، يوصى الجراحون بالمياه المالحة من قبل جراحي الأسنان لمنع العدوى والشفاء بشكل أسرع بعد العمليات الجراحية. في الواقع ، الغرغرة بالمياه المالحة تزيد من درجة الحموضة ، مما يجعل من الصعب على البكتيريا البقاء على قيد الحياة.

In a cup of warm water, add half a teaspoon of salt and mix. This isotonic solution, which is similar to tissue fluids found in salt concentration – will not irritate the mucous lining of your oral cavity. It will relieve the pain in your throat, regardless of it being caused by step throat, tonsilitis or common cold and allergies.

يؤثر تأثير غرغرة المياه المالحة على الالتهاب لعدة ساعات. ومع ذلك ، كلما كان الحل على اتصال مع أنسجة الحنجرة ، كلما كان ذلك أفضل. لذلك ، الغرغرة بالماء المالح طوال اليوم.

2. استنشاق البخار

يمكن علاج كل من السعال الجاف الناجم عن الحساسية والسعال الرطب الناجم عن التهابات الجهاز التنفسي مثل التهاب الشعب الهوائية عن طريق استنشاق البخار. هذه الطريقة بسيطة جدا ، لكنها تعمل بشكل رائع. فهو يساعد على ترطيب المسالك الهوائية الخاصة بك ، ويفتح البلغم الذي بني هناك ويساعد في الوقاية من الالتهاب. باختصار ، فإنه ينظف احتقان الأنف والصدر. إن استنشاق البخار قبل النوم يمكن أن يسمح لك بالنوم دون أن تتعطل بسبب أي سعال.

لجعل هذه الطريقة أكثر فعالية ، يمكنك إضافة بعض من زيت الأوكالبتوس الأساسي إلى الماء. يمكن أن توفر المياه المغلية البخار الكافي لـ 10 إلى 15 دقيقة. استنشق البخار مع رأسك مغطى بمنشفة. تأكد من البقاء على مسافة آمنة لتجنب التعرض للحرق. تحتاج إلى البخار وليس الحرارة.

3. زنجبيل طازج

الزنجبيل لديه خصائص مضادة للالتهابات كبيرة. وهو يساعد على الوقاية من التهاب الحنجرة والتهاب الشعب الهوائية ، سواء كانت ناجمة عن مسببات الحساسية أو العدوى. لإعداد شراب السعال ، يمكنك مزج عصير الزنجبيل ، المستخرج من رهيزومي طازج ، إلى العسل. لتهدئة حلقك ووقف السعال ، خذ بعض قطرات من الشراب.

يمكنك أيضا عمل شاي الزنجبيل. من المفيد جدا ضد نوبات السعال. أضيفي بعض شرائح الزنجبيل المهروسة إلى الماء واغلي لمدة دقيقتين إلى ثلاث دقائق. يمكنك تخزينها في الثلاجة وتدفئ بعضها عند الحاجة.

4. الليمون والعسل

يجعل الليمون والعسل مشروبًا خفيفًا لوقت النوم يساعد على تهدئة حلقك والحفاظ على رطوبة مجرى الهواء أثناء نومك.

في الماء الدافئ ، يضاف عصير ليمون صغير ومقطعتين من العسل ويخلطان. يساعد هذا المشروب على إزالة المخاط وجعله أكثر سهولة. يمكنك إعداد هذا في دفعة واستخدامه عند الحاجة. كوب من ماء الليمون والعسل يوميا سوف يجعلك تشعر بالارتياح!

5. الزنجبيل الجاف ومسحوق الفلفل الأسود

الزنجبيل الجاف ومسحوق الفلفل الأسود هو علاج السعال الايورفيدا التقليدي. يمكن أن توفر لك الإغاثة الفورية.

للحصول على الزنجبيل الجاف ، قم ببساطة بتجفيف جذور الزنجبيل برفق واتركها تجف. ومع ذلك ، فإنه يختلف عن الأعشاب الطازجة من حيث الذوق والنكهة والوظيفة العلاجية.

كل ما تحتاجه هو رشة من الخليط على لسانك لأنه حار جداً ولديه طعم قوي. يمكنك إضافة بعض مسحوق السكر أو العسل إلى الخليط لإخفاء الذوق.

6. حليب الكركم

الكركم تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في الطب التقليدي الصيني والهندي. يتم استخدامه لعلاج أمراض الجهاز التنفسي ، والجهاز الهضمي والجلد. كما أن لديها خصائص مضادة للالتهابات ومضادات الميكروبات رائعة.

جزء الكركم المستخدم هو لون جذور الكركم الأصفر ، وهو عشبة مرتبطة بالزنجبيل. الكركمين هو العامل النشط الرئيسي في الكركم وهو ما يعطي التوابل هذا اللون الأصفر الذهبي.

In a cup of hot milk, add one to two teaspoons of turmeric powder and mix. Drink this two times daily. Traditionally, it is recommended to use goat’s milk instead of cow’s milk because it is thought that the latter increases phlegm. You can also boil turmeric in water with a teaspoon of butter or coconut oil. The fat will enhance curcumin’s availability.

7. الثوم الخام

يمكنك تناول فصوص الثوم النيئة للتخلص من السعال ، سواء كان ذلك ناتجًا عن تهيج الحلق أو التهابات الجهاز التنفسي. كما تم استخدام الثوم الخام لعلاج أمراض الجهاز التنفسي بما في ذلك الالتهاب الرئوي والسعال الديكي. أنه يحتوي على المواد الكيميائية النشطة بيولوجيا التي لها نشاط مضاد للبكتيريا واسعة النطاق ضد كل من البكتيريا المسببة للأمراض الجرام إيجابية وسلبية الغرام. هذا يرجع أساسا إلى مركبات الكبريت مثل الأليين والليسين ، جنبا إلى جنب مع مشتقاتها.

سحق قليلا من فص الثوم في فمك سيطلق بعض العصير ، والتي سوف تساعدك على السيطرة على نوبات السعال. إضافة الثوم المسحوق إلى الطعام يمكن أن يساعد أيضا في الوقاية من العدوى الثانوية بعد الحساسية البارد أو الجهاز التنفسي.

8. عصير البصل

البديل الأخر للثوم هو البصل. ومع ذلك ، يحتوي البصل على العديد من مركبات الكبريت العضوية و polyphenols الفلافونويد التي تسهم في خصائصه المضادة للميكروبات ومضاد للالتهابات. عصير البصل يساعد على علاج التهاب الشعب الهوائية ، لإزالة المخاط ومنع نمو البكتيريا في الحلق.

استخراج عصير البصل الأحمر المبشور. تسر نصف ملعقة صغيرة في وقت واحد. امزجها مع العسل والسكر والعصير لجعلها أكثر قبولا.

9. شوربه ساخنه

المرق الساخن والحساء تهدئة الحلق وتخفيف السعال أثناء البرد والانفلونزا. حساء الدجاج هو عادة حساء الذهاب إلى. ومع ذلك ، فهي ، في الواقع ، المكونات الحارة ، مثل البصل والثوم والزنجبيل والفلفل الأسود ، في الحساء الذي يفعل السحر.

عندما تشرب الحساء ، فإنه يهدئ حلقك والبخار الذي يحتوي على العوامل النشطة المتطايرة في تلك المكونات يدخل الجهاز التنفسي الخاص بك ويخفف المخاط. يمكن أن يساعدك الحساء أيضًا في الحفاظ على رطوبتك.

10. عصير العنب الطازج

وهناك طريقة لذيذة لعلاج السعال الصدري العميق مع عصير العنب الأحمر الطازج الممزوج بملعقة صغيرة من العسل. ولا ينبغي قمع احتقان الصدر الناجم عن تراكم المخاط والميكروبات وحطامها. بدلا من ذلك ، يجب عليك استخدام مقشع حال للبلغم ، مثل عصير العنب ، التي سوف تحرر البلغم وتساعدك على السعال بسهولة أكبر. لتجربة الفوائد الكاملة لهذا العلاج ، استهلكه طازجًا.

11. عرق السوس

Dried licorice is a traditional cough remedy in some parts of Europe and Asia. Licorice is the root of a leguminous plant called Glycyrrhiza glabra, native to those countries. The remedy is popular in the form of sticks and candies, although many of today’s candies are just sugar and no licorice.

يمكن استخدام عرق السوس لعلاج بحة الصوت الناجمة عن التهاب الحنجرة وكذلك لعلاج التهاب الحلق والسعال والتهاب الشعب الهوائية وغيرها من الحالات الالتهابية في الجهاز التنفسي.

لعرق الشاي عرق السوس ، في كوبين من الماء ، إضافة ملعقة صغيرة من مسحوق عرق السوس ويغلي. ومن الطبيعي الحلو. يمكنك إضافته إلى الفلفل الأسود أو شاي الأعشاب لتحلية لهم.

12. شاي مولين

كانت أوراق المولي mين في فيرباس تستخدم تقليدياً في أوروبا لمحاربة السعال العنيد والأمراض التنفسية السفلية ، خاصة قبل لقاح المضادات الحيوية DTaP والمضادات الحيوية. في كثير من الأحيان ، كانت تدحرجت الأوراق في السيجار والمدخنة.

Mullein’s anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial effects are excellent. There are saponins in the leaves and flowers and they act like natural detergents. These unblock the phlegm in the airway. Mullein can be used in the long term and does not have any undesirable side effects nor is toxic. It can treat nagging coughs and other chronic lung infections.

في كوب ونصف من الماء المغلي ، أضيفي ملعقة أو ملعقتين من أوراق أو أزهار موليلين المجففة واتركهما لمدة خمسة عشر إلى عشرين دقيقة. يمكنك شرب ثلاثة أكواب كحد أقصى يوميًا. يمكنك أيضا الغرغرة معها.

13. شراب السعال محلية الصنع

تحتوي شراب السعال التجاري على العديد من المواد الكيميائية الاصطناعية التي يمكن أن تجعلك نعسان ولديك آثار جانبية أخرى. شراب السعال الطبيعي هي طريقة أفضل وأنت تعرف بالضبط ما يدور في النسخة محلية الصنع.

مع الزعتر والنعناع عن احتقان وعرق السوس وموليين لمكافحة الالتهاب ، لا يمكنك الذهاب الخطأ. في كوب من الماء المغلي ، أضيف ملعقتين من كل عشب واتركيه لمدة نصف ساعة. يصفى التسريب ويضاف نصف كوب من العسل ويخلط. برد الخليط. اشرب ملعقة صغيرة عند الحاجة.

14. زيت الحبة السوداء

البذور السوداء ، المعروفة أيضا باسم الكمون الأسود أو الكراوية السوداء ، هي بذرة حبة البركة. بالنسبة للسعال ، يمكنك سحق البذور ومزجها بالعسل. ومع ذلك ، فإن زيت الحبة السوداء أكثر فعالية. لعلاج جميع أنواع السعال ، بغض النظر عما إذا كانت ناجمة عن البرد أو الأنفلونزا أو مسببات الحساسية المحمولة جواً أو التهاب اللوزتين أو التهاب الحنجرة أو التهاب الشعب الهوائية أو الالتهاب الرئوي أو السل أو الربو.

امزج نصف ملعقة صغيرة من زيت الحبة السوداء المضغوط مع نصف ملعقة صغيرة من العسل واستهلك المزيج مرتين يومياً.

15. إشنسا الشاي / صبغة

إشنسا ، أو الردبكية البنفسجية ، هي زهرة برية أمريكا الشمالية التي تستخدم للسعال والبرد. بالإضافة إلى تخفيف السعال ، فإنه يهاجم أيضا السبب الأساسي. ومع ذلك ، يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت.

This remedy combats the infection before it becomes a full-fledged one, by promoting white blood cell activity and stimulating your immune system. Moreover, it has been observed that for chronic coughs that don’t yield to quick fixes, regular use of echinacea has worked great.

لصنع شاي إشنسا ، في الماء المغلي ، أضيفي رؤوس زهور طازجة أو مجففة واتركيها لمدة عشرين دقيقة. لجعل صبغة إشنسا ، في الكحول ، والبث عشب. يمكنك أيضا استخدام صبغة كمكمل في الشاي العادي أو العشبي لتعزيز جهاز المناعة.

16. شاي مارشميلو

عند غرسها في الماء ، ينتج جذر الخطمي سائل لزج ، مخاطي يهدئ البطانة المخاطية ويقلل من الالتهاب. أنها آمنة وفعالة للغاية إذا كان لديك سعال مع التهاب في الحلق.

Marshmallow tea helps greatly in the case of a dry cough. It moisturizes the throat’s mucous lining and upper airways. It also stops coughing caused by tissue irritation, whether it’s from allergens or infections like tonsillitis, laryngitis or bronchitis.

في أربعة أكواب من الماء الدافئ ، إضافة حفنة من جذور المارشميلو المجففة المسحوقة وتصفية السائل الكثيف. يمكنك شربه كما هو أو إضافة العسل أو السكر لتحليته.

17. عصير الصبار

The natural gel of aloe vera has great soothing effects on an inflamed tissue, whether it’s your skin or your throat lining. Its anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial properties soothe non-productive dry coughs caused by allergies and throat infections and fight the germs responsible. It also has an analgesic property, which is a bonus.

قطع فتح قسم من اثنين إلى أربع بوصات من ورقة الألوة فيرا ناضجة واستخراج هلام واضح. يمكنك أن تأكله من تلقاء نفسه ، على الرغم من أنه يمكن أن يكون مرًا قليلاً ، أو يمكنك إضافة العسل أو عصائر الفواكه لتحلية.

18. شاي سيج

حكيم ، المعروف أيضا باسم Salvia officinalis ، هو نبات عطري يستخدم كعشب طبي لعلاج السعال وأمراض الجهاز التنفسي المرتبطة بالسعال. وغالبا ما يستخدمه السكان الأصليون في علاج السعال. حتى ديسورايد ، وهو طبيب يوناني من القرن الأول قبل الميلاد ، استعمل شاي حكيم ضد السعال وبحة في الصوت.

في أربعة أكواب من الماء المغلي ، أضيفي حفنة من أوراق المريمية واتركها في 5 إلى 10 دقيقة. ثلاثة أكواب من الشاي الميرمى كل يوم على ما يرام. يمكنك أيضا الغرغرة مع الشاي المريمي في حالة الإصابة بالحنجرة.

19. الرطوبة البيئية

على ما يبدو بيئة رطبة يساعد على مكافحة السعال لأنه يقلل من تهيج في مجرى الهواء الجاف. في حالة السعال العنيد واحتقان الصدر ، فإن الحمام الساخن أو الدش سوف يساعد في إزالة المخاط ، وسوف تسعله بسهولة أكبر.

أما بالنسبة للسعال الجاف الناجم عن الحساسية ، يمكن للمرطب في غرفة النوم الخاصة بك منع نوبات السعال.

20. إضافة الماء

يساعد ترطيب الجسم على تحريك سوائل الجسم بحرية أكبر ويساهم أيضًا في وظيفة المناعة لديك. هذا الأمر أكثر أهمية إذا كانت درجة حرارتك مرتفعة ولديك السعال والبرد.

في هذه الحالة ، سوف تهدئ المياه الدافئة حلقك. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن لعصائر الفاكهة وشاي الأعشاب والشوربة واضحة تساعدك على البقاء رطب.

كيف تعالجين السعال؟ ما هي العلاجات المنزلية الخاصة بك للسعال؟ لا تتردد في مشاركتنا في التعليقات!

عن المؤلف

عكاشة روجي

وهو عاطفي شغوف بالتغذية ، ويعتقد عكاشة أن التغذية هي أحد مفاتيح الأداء الرياضي الرائع ، ونفس النفس الصحي والسعيد. عندما لا ترفع أوزاناً ثقيلة أو تتعلم عن الصحة ، فإنها ترمز ، و cosplays و headbangs إلى موسيقى Metal.

20 Home Remedies for Cough

A persistent cough is awful. It disturbs your sleep and prevents you from properly doing what you have to.

Coughing is actually how your body naturally reacts when your airway is irritated or blocked. It can also come with allergies, colds or flu. Although there are several home remedies that work great, it is useful to be aware of the cause of the cough.

If food particles have entered your airway by accident while you were swallowing, you will only experience a temporary block of the airway and a hard cough. Nevertheless, this is solved quite fast. On the other hand, bacterial and viral throat infections can cause shallow but painful coughing. In this case, attacking the infection is the best solution.

Types of Cough

Dry cough, which is due to your airway lining being irritated, is usually caused by respiratory allergens. In this case, it is better to suppress the cough. Otherwise, it may worsen your airway.

Deep cough, which usually has phlegm, are often caused by respiratory infections. In this case, you should get rid of mucus blocking your airway. It is better to use home remedies that help you to bring out the mucus until the infection goes away.

However, dry cough can still be present afterward in case the mucosal lining of your airway got some damage. To solve this, you should keep your airway moist and hydrated.

Remedies

1. Salt Water Gargle

Since a very long time, salt has been used to treat infections and inflammations. As a matter of fact, we can find salt treatments recipes in Egyptian papyrus scrolls dating of 1699 B.C. To this day, salt water gargle is recommended by dental surgeons to prevent infections and to heal faster following surgical procedures. In fact, gargling with salt water temporarily increases pH, which makes it difficult for bacteria to survive.

In a cup of warm water, add half a teaspoon of salt and mix. This isotonic solution, which is similar to tissue fluids found in salt concentration – will not irritate the mucous lining of your oral cavity. It will relieve the pain in your throat, regardless of it being caused by step throat, tonsilitis or common cold and allergies.

The effect that salt water gargle has on inflammation lasts for many hours. However, the longer the solution is in contact with throat tissues, the better. So, gargle with salt water throughout the day.

2. Inhaling Steam

Both dry cough caused by allergies and wet cough caused by respiratory infections such as bronchitis can be treated by inhaling steam. This method is very simple, yet works great. It helps to moisturize your airways, unblocks the phlegm built up there and helps against inflammation. In short, it cleans your nasal and chest congestion. Inhaling steam before bed can allow you to sleep without being disrupted by any coughing.

To make this method even more effective, you can add some eucalyptus essential oil to the water. Boiled water can provide sufficient steam for 10 to 15 minutes. Inhale the steam with your head covered with a towel. Make sure to stay at a safe distance so as to avoid being burnt. You need the vapor and not the heat.

3. Fresh Ginger

Ginger has great anti-inflammatory properties. It helps against throat soreness and airway inflammation, whether they are caused by allergens or infections. To prepare a cough syrup, you can mix ginger juice, extracted from a fresh rhizome, to honey. To soothe your throat and stop a cough, take some drops of the syrup.

You can also make ginger tea. It is very helpful against coughing bouts. Add some crushed ginger slices to water and boil for two to three minutes. You can store it in the refrigerator and warm some when needed.

4. Lemon and Honey

Lemon and honey make for a light bedtime drink that will help to soothe your throat and keep your airway hydrated during your sleep.

In warm water, add the juice of a small lemon and two tablespoons of honey and mix. This drink will help to unblock the mucus and to more easily bring it up. You can prepare this in a batch and use it when needed. A glass of lemon and honey water daily will make you feel great!

5. Dry Ginger and Black Pepper Powder

Dry ginger and black pepper powder is a traditional Ayurvedic cough remedy. It can provide you with immediate relief.

To obtain dry ginger, simply steam the ginger root lightly and let it dry. However, it is different from the fresh herb in terms of taste, flavor and therapeutic function.

All you need is a pinch of the mixture on your tongue as it is very spicy and has a strong taste. You can add some sugar powder or honey to the mixture to hide the taste.

6. Turmeric Milk

Turmeric is very popular in traditional Chinese and Indian medicine. It is used to treat respiratory, digestive and skin ailments. It also has wonderful anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial properties.

The part of turmeric that is used is the yellow-colored rhizome of Curcuma longa, which is a herb related to ginger. Curcumin is the main active agent in turmeric and is what gives the spice this golden yellow color.

In a cup of hot milk, add one to two teaspoons of turmeric powder and mix. Drink this two times daily. Traditionally, it is recommended to use goat’s milk instead of cow’s milk because it is thought that the latter increases phlegm. You can also boil turmeric in water with a teaspoon of butter or coconut oil. The fat will enhance curcumin’s availability.

7. Raw Garlic

You can eat raw garlic cloves to get rid of a cough, whether it is caused by throat irritation or respiratory infections. Raw garlic has also been used to treat respiratory diseases including pneumonia and whooping cough. It contains bioactive chemicals that have wide-ranging antibacterial activity against both gram-positive and gram-negative pathogenic bacteria. This is mainly due to sulfur compounds like alliin and allicin, along with their derivatives.

Slightly crushing a garlic clove in your mouth will release some of its juice, which will help you to control coughing bouts. Adding crushed garlic to food can also help to prevent secondary infections following a cold or respiratory allergies.

8. Onion Juice

A milder alternative to garlic is onion. However, onion has several organosulfur compounds and flavonoid polyphenols that contribute to its antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory properties. Onion juice helps to treat bronchitis, to unblock mucus and to prevent bacterial growth in the throat.

Extract the juice of a grated red onion. Ingest half a teaspoon at a time. Mix with honey, sugar or juice to make it more palatable.

9. Hot Soup

Hot broth and soups soothe the throat and relieve coughs during cold and flu. Chicken soup is usually the go-to soup. However, it is, in fact, the spicy ingredients, such as onion, garlic, ginger and black pepper, in the soup that do the magic.

When you drink the soup, it soothes your throat and the steam that contains the volatile active agents in those ingredients enters your respiratory tract and loosens the mucus. Soup can also help to keep you hydrated.

10. Fresh Grape Juice

A delicious way to treat deep chesty cough is with fresh red grape juice mixed with one teaspoon of honey. Chest congestion caused by a build-up of mucus, microbes and their debris should not be suppressed. Instead, you should use a mucolytic expectorant, such as grape juice, that will unblock the phlegm and help you to cough it up more easily. To experience the full benefits of this remedy, consume it fresh.

11. Licorice

Dried licorice is a traditional cough remedy in some parts of Europe and Asia. Licorice is the root of a leguminous plant called Glycyrrhiza glabra, native to those countries. The remedy is popular in the form of sticks and candies, although many of today’s candies are just sugar and no licorice.

Licorice can be used to treat hoarseness caused by laryngitis as well as to treat sore throats, cough, bronchitis and other inflammatory conditions of the respiratory tract.

For licorice herbal tea, in two cups of water, add a teaspoon of licorice powder and boil. It is naturally sweet. You can add it to black pepper or herbal teas to sweeten them.

12. Mullein Tea

The leaves of the mullein Verbascus thapsus were traditionally used in Europe to fight stubborn coughs and lower respiratory diseases, especially before DTaP vaccine and antibiotics. Often, the leaves were rolled into a cigar and smoked.

Mullein’s anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial effects are excellent. There are saponins in the leaves and flowers and they act like natural detergents. These unblock the phlegm in the airway. Mullein can be used in the long term and does not have any undesirable side effects nor is toxic. It can treat nagging coughs and other chronic lung infections.

In one and a half cup of boiling water, add one to two teaspoons of dried mullein leaves or flowers and leave them in for fifteen to twenty minutes. You can drink a maximum of three cups daily. You can also gargle with it.

13. Homemade Cough Syrup

Commercial cough syrups contain many synthetic chemicals which can make you drowsy and have other side effects. Natural cough syrups are way better and you know exactly what goes into your homemade version.

With thyme and peppermint for decongestion and licorice and mullein for anti-inflammation, you cannot go wrong. In a cup of boiling water, add two teaspoons of each herb and leave it for half an hour. Strain the infusion and, when cold, add half a cup of honey and mix. Refrigerate the mixture. Drink one teaspoon when required.

14. Black Seed Oil

Black seed, also known as black cumin or black caraway, is the seed of Nigella sativa. For coughs, you can crush the seeds and mix them with honey. However, black seed oil is even more effective. It can relieve all kinds of coughs, regardless of whether they were caused by cold, flu, airborne allergens, tonsillitis, laryngitis, bronchitis, pneumonia, tuberculosis or asthma.

Mix half a teaspoon of cold pressed black seed oil with half a teaspoon of honey and consume the mixture twice daily.

15. Echinacea Tea/Tincture

Echinacea, or purple coneflower, is a North American wildflower that is used for cough and cold. In addition to relieving a cough, it also attacks the underlying cause. However, it takes some time to act.

This remedy combats the infection before it becomes a full-fledged one, by promoting white blood cell activity and stimulating your immune system. Moreover, it has been observed that for chronic coughs that don’t yield to quick fixes, regular use of echinacea has worked great.

To make echinacea tea, in boiling water, add fresh or dried flower heads and leave it in for twenty minutes. To make echinacea tincture, in alcohol, infuse the herb. You can also use the tincture as a supplement in your regular or herbal tea for boosting your immune system.

16. Marshmallow Tea

When infused in water, marshmallow root produces a viscous, mucilaginous liquid which soothes the mucous lining and reduces inflammation. It is very safe and effective if you have a cough along with a sore throat.

Marshmallow tea helps greatly in the case of a dry cough. It moisturizes the throat’s mucous lining and upper airways. It also stops coughing caused by tissue irritation, whether it’s from allergens or infections like tonsillitis, laryngitis or bronchitis.

In four cups of warm water, add a handful of crushed dried marshmallow roots and filter out the thick liquid. You can drink it as is or add honey or sugar to sweeten it.

17. Aloe Vera Juice

The natural gel of aloe vera has great soothing effects on an inflamed tissue, whether it’s your skin or your throat lining. Its anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial properties soothe non-productive dry coughs caused by allergies and throat infections and fight the germs responsible. It also has an analgesic property, which is a bonus.

Cut open a section of two to four inches from a mature aloe vera leaf and extract the clear gel. You can eat it on its own, although it can be a little bitter, or you can add honey or fruit juices to sweeten it.

18. Sage Tea

Sage, also known as Salvia officinalis, is an aromatic plant used as a medicinal herb to treat coughs and cough-related respiratory diseases. It was often used by indigenous people in cough remedies. Even Discorides, a Greek physician from the first century B.C., used sage tea against coughs and hoarseness.

In four cups of boiling water, add a handful of sage leaves and leave them in for 5 to 10 minutes. Three cups of sage tea daily is fine. You can also gargle with sage tea in the case of a throat infection.

19. Environment Humidity

A humid environment apparently helps against coughing as it reduces irritation in a dry airway. In the case of a stubborn cough and chest congestion, a hot bath or shower will help as it will unblock mucus and you will more easily cough it up.

As for dry cough caused by allergies, a humidifier in your bedroom can prevent coughing fits.

20. Hydration

Being hydrated helps to get the body fluids to move more freely and also contributes to your immune function. This is even more important if your temperature is high and you have a cough and a cold.

In this case, warm water will soothe your throat. In addition to this, fruit juices, herbal teas and clear soups can help you to stay hydrated.

How do you treat cough? What are your home remedies for cough? Feel free to share with us in the comments!

About the author

Akasha